A Spiritual Journey to Nine Goddess Temples

  • Home
  • Blog
  • A Spiritual Journey to Nine Goddess Temples
A Spiritual Journey to Nine Goddess Temples
  • Admin
  • 19 May 2023

Are you seeking spiritual enlightenment? Look no further than Nau Devi Darshan, a divine journey to the nine goddess temples nestled in the heart of India. This tour takes you on a path of self-discovery and spiritual awakening, allowing you to connect with the divine feminine energy of the universe.

In this article, we will explore the significance of Nau Devi Darshan, the history behind it, the itinerary, and tips for making the most of your experience.

The Significance of Nau Devi Darshan

Nau Devi Darshan is a pilgrimage that is believed to grant the wishes of devotees who embark on this journey. The nine goddesses who reside in these temples are said to embody different aspects of the feminine divine, and their blessings are sought for various reasons. For example, Vaishno Devi is known for fulfilling wishes related to health, wealth, and prosperity, while Mata Jwala Devi is believed to protect her devotees from evil forces.

The significance of Nau Devi Darshan lies in its ability to connect devotees with the divine feminine energy of the universe. By visiting these nine temples and seeking the blessings of the goddesses, one can find inner peace, happiness, and fulfillment. The journey is not just a physical one, but a spiritual one as well, allowing devotees to connect with their inner selves and the divine.

The History of Nau Devi Darshan

The history of Nau Devi Darshan dates back to ancient times, and the exact origin of this pilgrimage is unknown. However, it is believed to have started during the reign of the Pandavas, who were known for their devotion to the goddesses. Over time, the pilgrimage gained popularity, and devotees from all over India started visiting these nine temples.

The Nine Goddesses of Nau Devi Darshan

The Nau Devi Darshan tour is dedicated to paying homage to the nine powerful goddesses, each with her unique significance and divine attributes. Here are the names and brief descriptions of the Nine Goddesses of Nau Devi Darshan:

Maa Vaishno Devi

Located in the Trikuta Hills of Jammu and Kashmir, Maa Vaishno Devi is one of the most revered goddesses in Hindu mythology. She is believed to fulfill the wishes of her devotees and bless them with strength and prosperity.

Maa Chintpurni

Situated in Himachal Pradesh, Maa Chintpurni is worshipped as the reliever of worries and the bestower of peace of mind. Devotees seek her blessings to overcome their anxieties and find solace in her divine presence.

Maa Naina Devi

Nestled in the Bilaspur district of Himachal Pradesh, Maa Naina Devi is revered as the goddess of vision. It is believed that she blesses her devotees with clarity of sight, both physically and spiritually.

Maa Mansa Devi

Located in Haridwar, Uttarakhand, Maa Mansa Devi is the goddess of wishes. Devotees visit her shrine to seek her blessings for the fulfillment of their desires and aspirations.

Maa Jwala Devi

Situated in Kangra, Himachal Pradesh, Maa Jwala Devi is the goddess of divine fire. Her temple is famous for an eternal flame that represents her immense power and presence.

Maa Vindhyavasini

Located in Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh, Maa Vindhyavasini is worshipped as the embodiment of strength and victory. Devotees believe that she grants them courage and triumph in their endeavors.

Maa Kali Devi

Situated in Kalighat, Kolkata, Maa Kali Devi is a fierce and powerful goddess, representing time, change, and transformation. She is worshipped for protection and liberation from negative forces.

Maa Shakumbhari Devi

Found in Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh, Maa Shakumbhari Devi is the goddess of sustenance and abundance. Devotees seek her blessings for prosperity, good harvests, and nourishment.

Maa Bhadrakali

Located in Hanumangarh, Rajasthan, Maa Bhadrakali is revered as a fierce form of the goddess Durga. She is worshipped for protection against evil and the destruction of obstacles.

These nine goddesses collectively represent various aspects of feminine power and are worshipped with great devotion during the Nau Devi Darshan tour, creating a profound spiritual experience for pilgrims seeking their blessings.

Itinerary for Nau Devi Darshan

The itinerary for Nau Devi Darshan usually takes around nine days, with each day dedicated to visiting one of the nine temples. The journey starts with a visit to Vaishno Devi temple, followed by visits to the other eight temples. The temples are located in different parts of India, and the journey involves a lot of traveling. However, the journey is worth it, as each temple offers a unique experience and a chance to connect with the divine.

How to Reach the Nau Devi Temples

The best way to reach the Nau Devi temples is by air, as most of the temples are located in remote locations. The nearest airports to the temples are Jammu, Amritsar, and Chandigarh. From there, one can hire a taxi or take a bus to reach the temples. It is also possible to reach the temples by train, as most of the temples are located near railway stations.

Accommodation Options During Nau Devi Darshan

There are several accommodation options available for devotees during Nau Devi Darshan. Most of the temples have guest houses or dharamshalas where devotees can stay for free or a minimal fee. However, these accommodations are basic and may not be suitable for everyone.

For those who prefer more comfortable accommodations, there are several hotels and resorts located near the temples. These accommodations offer a range of amenities and services, including air-conditioned rooms, Wi-Fi, and in-room dining.

Tips for Nau Devi Darshan

To make the most of your Nau Devi Darshan experience, it is important to plan ahead and take certain precautions. Here are some tips to keep in mind:

  • Wear comfortable clothes and shoes, as the journey involves a lot of walking and climbing stairs.
  • Carry a small backpack with essentials like water, snacks, and sunscreen.
  • Respect the traditions and customs of the temples, and follow the dress code.
  • Be prepared for crowds, especially during peak season.
  • Hire a guide or join a group tour to learn more about the history and significance of the temples.

Things to Do During Nau Devi Darshan

Apart from visiting the temples, there are several other things to do during Nau Devi Darshan. Here are some suggestions:

  • Explore the local markets and try the local cuisine.
  • Visit nearby tourist attractions like the Golden Temple in Amritsar or the Rock Garden in Chandigarh.
  • Attend the evening aarti at the temples, which is a beautiful and spiritual experience.
  • Take part in the various rituals and ceremonies that take place at the temples.


Nau Devi Darshan is a journey of self-discovery and spiritual awakening, offering devotees a chance to connect with the divine feminine energy of the universe. By visiting the nine goddess temples and seeking their blessings, one can find inner peace, happiness, and fulfillment. The journey is not just a physical one, but a spiritual one as well, and it is an experience that should not be missed.

So, pack your bags and embark on this divine journey to the Nine Goddesses Tour.

Explore Packages By Destination

whatsapp icon